I’m Officially a Kiwi for a Year

The results are in…and I’m approved!  As of September 4, 2012, I’m officially allowed into NZ for an entire year!  The best part is I thought I’d have to pay a $140 application fee, but it turns my fee was waived because I used their online system!  That’s like, an entire week’s rent, or a whole lotta beers!  Sweet!  So many exclamation points!

It was a really easy process, and it took maybe 15 minutes to complete.  They just want to know about your work history and make sure you haven’t killed anybody.  They must be able to tell a lot about a person based on a thorough background check because I didn’t have to talk or meet with anyone in person.  Either that, or the Kiwis are just very trusting people.

So now begins the save-all-the-money-you-can game, while I make list after list of tasks I’ll need to accomplish before my departure.  I actually enjoy this part a lot!  Not really the saving money part, but the whole planning stage before actually leaving.  Booking flights, finding a decent hostel, making sure I know where to go once I get there is what I find thrilling.  Part of the fun is getting there, right?  I think so.

Leave a comment and tell me what you think!

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “I’m Officially a Kiwi for a Year

  1. Elise says:

    Congratulations! New Zealand is definitely on my “gotta go there list”. I liked the information about the process you went through etc.

Leave a Reply

