My Home for 3 Weeks

For the first three weeks of my stay in Auckland, I will be staying in a hostel downtown.  I just finished booking it online at hostelbookers.com.  Only 10% is due when I first book it, but that means that I’ll need to pay the rest when I arrive.  I need to remember to bring that much cash in NZ dollars with me so I don’t have to use my credit card.

The hostel I picked got good ratings from other travelers and is well located in the center of downtown Auckland.  Public transportation and shopping are located very close by, which will make my first days’ errands much easier.  Those errands will include opening a bank account, obtaining a NZ tax ID number, and finding a job!  I’ll also need to feed myself and keep my clothes clean.

I am hoping that I won’t need to stay in the hostel for the whole three weeks, but depending on when I find a job it might impact my ability to rent an apartment.  So we’ll see.  If I don’t need to stay for the whole three weeks, they’ll refund me the money for any days I don’t use.  A nice perk!

I went ahead with the cheapest option, the mixed room.  For $2 extra per night I could go with the female room, but that adds up.  I’m not that worried about it.

My departure date is coming up so quickly, and there is still a lot I need to get done.  All my bookings are completed, so now I just need to get things squared away here and try to prepare as much as possible for the job hunt.  I’ll keep you guys updated on my progress!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

