My Vision for NZ is 20/15

My eyesight started getting bad when I was in middle school.  I started off with glasses and then moved to contacts (glasses in combination with braces is not a good look), which I stayed with throughout college.  Then, in 2008 as a graduation present from my parents, I got the Lasik procedure done on both of my eyes.  No more glasses and no more contacts!  It seriously felt like a miracle that I could see perfectly without a corrective lens in the way.

About two years ago, I noticed that my vision started getting fuzzy again.  I went to the eye doctor and sure enough, my eyesight was slowly getting bad again.  My Lasik surgery came with a lifetime guarantee, but they told me that my eyesight would have to stabilize before they could do any enhancement.  I was told that this can happen since I had the procedure done when I was so young.  So I had to wait until my eyes stopped changing.  I eventually needed glasses to drive, but last April I got some contacts to use for my Europe trip.  I stuck with those throughout the summer and fall while I was making plans for NZ.

Every time I had gone to the eye doctor, he told me that my eyes were still changing; Except for this last time in April.  He said to check back in the fall and if they were stable, I would have a chance to get an enhancement from the Lasik center.  This past October I went in, and sure enough my eyes remained stable!  I made an appointment with the center right away and they confirmed at that appointment that I was eligible for an enhancement!

I was so excited because now I wouldn’t have to worry about carrying glasses and contacts around while I travel!  Convenience and traveling light are a big deal to me.  My surgery took place November 19th, and it only took five minutes for the whole procedure.  I went home and took a nap on doctors orders, and when I woke up I could see!

The whole point of my trip is to see things, and it means a lot to me that I will be able to see them with my own natural eyes.

I visited my eye doctor for my two-week post-op appointment and he told me that I actually have 20/15 vision!  Woo hoo!  Basically, I have superhuman eyesight now!  I feel like this enhancement couldn’t have come at a better time.  I’ll really be able to appreciate the beauty I find in NZ, even more so because I know how lucky I am to have this procedure done.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “My Vision for NZ is 20/15

  1. Wow, “eye” know exactly how you feel! I wore glasses from 5 years old to fifth grade. I hated wearing them. I always sat in the back of the room, which was the catalyst for pushing my stronger eye to work harder. Then, I never wore them in high school either or college lectures. I’ll need them for driving, but that’s about it. Maybe I should reconsider the path you took? Thanks for some insight!

Leave a Reply

