Goals for My Year in NZ

There are a couple of things I have in mind that I’d like to accomplish while living in NZ this year.  Here is my list:

1.  Save up enough money from working the first few months so that I can visit Australia after I leave NZ.  My plan is to work in Auckland during the winter and then when it starts to warm up I’ll start my major traveling.  This will be a challenge for me since I’m only allowed to work seasonal/temporary jobs, which means most likely a minimum wage position.  I also want to explore the area around Auckland while I’m working so that will put a bit of a strain on the savings as well.

2.  Keep my American accent.  This is going to be a hard one because I remember on my second day in Dublin the voice I use to talk to myself in my head already had an Irish accent!  It’s not a big deal, but I know if I come home sounding like Peter Jackson everyone is gonna give me a hard time.

3. Keep my possessions to a minimum.  I’m not going to be taking much with me, just the essentials in terms of clothes and shoes, plus my electronic gadgets I can’t live without.  But when I arrive, I don’t want to go on a shopping spree to fill up the holes in my wardrobe I left behind!  I really only want to purchase things if what I brought with me wears out.  So it will be more like replacing instead of adding.  I won’t have anywhere to put more stuff when I leave anyway, since I’ll just have my backpack.

4.  Have fun.  This could potentially be a really stressful time for me.  I don’t know anyone!  I might run out of money!  These people drive on the opposite side of the road, I’m gonna die!  I really can’t think that way, and I am not planning on it.  I am actually really excited, because I know that I’ll meet great people and see amazing things.  I realize the potential for disaster is there, but that can be true here at home!  So, along with my minimal possessions, I’ll be bringing with me a positive attitude.

I have some other goals in mind, but those are my most important ones that I wanted to share.  Any ideas for something else I should accomplish while I’m away?  Leave me a comment!

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Goals for My Year in NZ

  1. Patricia Zimmerman says:

    Enjoy this is a once in a lifetime experience. Can’t wait to see your pictures.

  2. Doug says:

    No worries Mate. You always have friends that you can count on if you need us.

  3. Lisa says:

    You are going to have a wonderful time; Enjoy and post pic’s when you can.

Leave a Reply

