Devonport

For the past two months, I’ve been settling into a basic routine with work and making arrangements for my long term stay.  But today I threw the routine out the window!  Now, thanks to my new ride, I can finally travel the country!  I decided to head to Devonport today, which took about 30 minutes to get to from my flat.  It’s just across the bay from downtown Auckland.

DevonportMap

My first stop was Mt. Victoria, another extinct volcano and the highest for miles around.  I parked my car and climbed to the top in about 15 minutes.  It’s very surprising how fast you can walk to the top when you see it towering above you in the distance.  The views were spectacular.

IMG_0163

IMG_0180

We’ve been having a lot of rain lately, so it seemed that everyone was trying to take advantage of the lovely weather and take their sailboats out for a cruise around the bay.

IMG_0195

I stayed at the top for about a half hour.  By that time I was pretty sick of dodging out of peoples’ photographs, and from the top I was able to plan out my route to downtown Devonport to search for some fish n’ chips.  I walked down to the edge of the bay and followed the beach west to the little town.  The beaches had sand, but there was also a lot of jagged volcanic rock.  There’s nothing like scary, black, jagged rocks on the beach to remind me that I’m not in Ocean City!

IMG_0207

I found a nice little place to eat my fish n’ chips with an outdoor seating area.

IMG_0220

The town was very clean and had an old, chic feel to it.  It reminded me of an upscale downtown D.C. neighborhood, except this neighborhood had palm trees!  And palm trees make everything better.  You know what I mean!  No one ever sees a palm tree and says, “Oh man, not palm trees!”  No.  They are excited to see that palm tree.

IMG_0232

IMG_0225

I really enjoyed walking around the little town and watching the boats drift past in the bay.  I think I am definitely ready to head out of Auckland on my next road trip.  There are so many places to visit, I am having a hard time deciding where to go next.  I’m sure I’ll figure it out.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

